limitedhost.blogg.se

96 f350 turbo boost gauge kit sender
96 f350 turbo boost gauge kit sender










I found a great all in one dual gauge that reads both EGT and boost. Removing the clock gave me a nice existing hole for my new gauge with a 12v source for the voltmeter. Since my 98 Hummer has a clock built into the Monsoon radio I decided I could live without the little round clock in the dash. The voltmeter is easy to move because all it needs is a source of voltage from the truck. If your voltage drops, the truck is not in danger of destroying itself and could very well run for hours more without a problem. A drop in oil pressure or a sudden rise in egt could spell the end or your engine within seconds. The voltmeter is not as important as the oil pressure or the egt.

96 F350 TURBO BOOST GAUGE KIT SENDER INSTALL

I decided to install my new gauge where the voltmeter was. Installing it next to the important oil pressure gauge was my goal. In my opinion the egt/ boost is more important than the voltmeter so I wanted it up high and visible. I don't like to cut holes or butcher up the wiring harness. The goal I have in all my installations is to make them as clean as possible. These gauges are inherently damped and don't exhibit 'overshoot'. The electronic units have a transducer that senses pressure. The mechanical units are basic pressure gauges that use a hollow curved tube (bourdon tube) that flexes under pressure. There are two kinds of boost gauges, mechanical and electronic.

96 f350 turbo boost gauge kit sender

This is the same probe they sell for use in aircraft so I have a lot of confidence in this setup. I've had the same probe in my truck for over 5 years now without a problem. The reason you will see probes downstream of the turbo is to prevent a broken probe from trashing the turbo. Basically, the closer you can get the sensor to the exhaust port in the head the better. Placing the probe at the turbine inlet results in higher temperature readings that react faster with changing engine conditions. If you install the sensor before the turbo you read the turbine inlet temperature. If you install the sensor after the turbo you read exhaust temps. Note that 1997 and newer turbodiesels have oil sprayed on the pistons for additional cooling.Īn EGT gauge is a thermocouple pyrometer. At the time, the water temp was running around 220 so the truck wasn't overheating. Easing up on the throttle dropped the temperature immediately. At times I saw the temp spike to 1,300 which according to the literature is the max temp you should run at. My wagon could have maintained 55 mph but I limited the speed to about 48 mph while keeping my EGT temperature below 1000. The hardest I've ever seen my stock truck work was while going up Loveland pass (11,100 feet) in Colorado which is a very steep highway. If you have installed a performance chip or a supercharger this gauge is a must. Your pistons are made of aluminum that melts at 1,220 degrees so over fueling, boosting or a malfunction (bad injector) could cause serious damage. As the engine load increases more fuel is injected into the cylinders causing the exhaust gas temperature to rise.

96 f350 turbo boost gauge kit sender

The temperature of the exhaust gas is a direct indicator of how hard the engine is working and if there is a problem. Donation Info EGT Overview and PartsĮGT means exhaust gas temperature. If this site has helped you consider a Donation.










96 f350 turbo boost gauge kit sender